Mayor John Tory and his band of Scarborough politicians never miss a chance to tell Scarborough citizens about the one-stop extension that will allegedly bring Scarborough together as one people. The latest disingenuous rhetoric comes Tory himself, who is quoted as saying that a single stop for $3.2B is about equity.

The most divisive politicians use Scarborough and Scarborough City Centre synonymously, as if all 625,000 residents of Scarborough live in the centre of Scarborough. We find this rhetoric utterly insulting.

Here is a list of neighbourhoods in Scarborough who pay taxes but have yet to receive transit funding under Mayor Tory’s current Scarborough Transit plan.

  • Steeles
  • L’Amoreaux
  • Tam O’Shanter-Sullivan
  • Wexford-Maryvale
  • Clairlea-Birchmount
  • Oakridge
  • Birchcliffe-Cliffside
  • Cliffcrest
  • Kennedy Park
  • Ionview
  • Dorset Park
  • Agincourt South-Malvern West
  • Agincourt North
  • Milliken
  • Rouge
  • Malvern
  • Centennial Scarborough
  • Highland Creek
  • Morningside
  • West Hill
  • Woburn
  • Eglinton East
  • Scarborough Village
  • Guildwood

In addition, every single RT station will effectively shut down under Mayor Tory’s current Scarborough transit plan. Here is the list:

  • Lawrence East Station
  • Ellesmere Station
  • Midland Station
  • McCowan Station

If you live in Scarborough and we’ve missed your neighbourhood, let us know!

By Milan Gokhale, STA Ally

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One comment

  • Frank Teller

    Thanks for raising awareness. As you have mentioned previously, the best way to raise awareness in Scarborough is going door to door and have ask residents to call in to their local Councillor (and maybe MP and MPP) to voice their support for the LRT. The Scarborough councillors need to directly hear the voices of residents directly. The only way to get the councillors to listen will be if they feel their job is on the line.

    January 17, 2017 at 9:06 pm Reply